Reviews Page.

If you would like to add your thoughts, please email us,
and we will get it on this page. Many thanks.

   ‎  Jonathan Rose to  Amycrofters Folk Dance Band

Thank you for playing for us on the 2nd of June. It was a great evening, the Amycrofters created a fun atmosphere and everyone had a great time!

Les Fry, Dorchester Marathon. 26th May 2018.
Very helpful and polite duo who performed well, nothing wrong at all with the music.

Christina Bows, The Spiral, Axmouth. 10th May 2018.
Andrew and June, the Amycrofters, have been coming to play for Maypole Dancing at our May Day Celebration at the Spiral Combe Farm, Axmouth, for around 10 years.
They are equally wonderful with children of all ages, old ladies and those with special needs. They are reliable, obliging, fun and create a great atmosphere.   Oh yes and they are good musicians!

Chris Miles, President, Exmouth Folk Dance Club.         5th May 2018.
The Amycrofters are a versatile small band that can adapt to any type of function.  I have known them for many years, playing occasionally for the Exmouth Folk dance Club, and in the past played at our Saturday Dances that were attended by up to 100. I have “called” with them at folk dance clubs and the occasional private function. Andrew & his wife June can be seen around Sidmouth at the Folk Festival in August, playing around the town, giving joy to the crowds attending the festival. I would not hesitate in recommending them.

Melanie Le Roux, Jan. 12, 2018
“This is a review about June and Andrews band, the Amycrofters. I have attended several events where they have played, a birthday party, street festival, folk dance fundraisers to name a few. They also regularly entertained the youth at our Youth Cafe, ‘The Rock’ in Sidmouth. The youth enjoyed playing along with them and always had a jolly good time. They are professional, entertaining and excellent musicians, who interact well with their audience and manage to get everyone up, laughing and dancing. I would not hesitate to rate them 10/10. (5*)”

Joy Viljoen, Nov. 4, 2017
“I was absolutely thrilled with the Amycrofters Band and their caller. They played for my 70th birthday on the 4th November 2017. Being of the older generation, I was worried that the ceilidh would be beyond us. How wrong I was. The band played just right and everyone had a ball. It knocked 10 years off my age. This is a tremendous band who catered for the needs of the wide variety of ages present. I would recommend them any time. Hope I live to have them back for my 80th! I would give them 10 out of 10. 5 star rating. Many thanks”

Jeremy Child, July 7, 2017
“Dear Andrew and June I just wanted to say what a pleasure it was working with you again the other day. Your music is a delight to listen to and to dance to, and never fails to fill the floor. The phrasing is spot on, keeping the dancers on track, and the speed is always exactly what the dancers need. Your medleys of old favourites always go down particularly well, with those choosing not to dance able to join in by singing along. Thank you so very much – 5 Star! (out of 5!)”

Peter Strevens, Oct. 20, 2017
“Good Afternoon June and Andrew I am delighted on behalf of Truro Folk Dance Club to furnish you with a review for the Amycrofters Folk Dance Band. It is with great pleasure we are able to say that we have employed the services of the Amycrofters on many occasions for Dance nights, New Years’ Eve and our Dinner Dance evenings over the past 10 years and have always found them to be professional, punctual and reliable on each occasion they have been booked. Their performances have always met the requirements of our Folk Dance Club covering all the genres of English Country Folk Dancing. The band also provides other Folk entertainment i.e. Jig Dolls and solo performances. They also, on occasions play background music and call.”

Kim Clark, Oct. 14, 2017
“The Amycrofters and their caller gave a wonderful performance. Everybody was happy from the start and joined in with gusto. The event raised funds for the Village Hall. We could not have had a more lively evening. The band arrived early, and were set up and sound checked well before the start. Their stage appearance was fantastic. I would recommend this band for any event. We shall book them for next year. I have also been to a wedding where they played, and again they were top class!”